Real Estate Information

Joint Ventures In Real Estate Development; So How Do They Work?


There are many reasons why you would consider joining with another person to undertake a development project in Joint Venture.

Usually the most basis reason reveolves around something you don't have.

Some of them may be:

1. I own land ... have capital & capacity to borrow ... but no experience.

2. I have capital & capacity to borrow ... partner has land ... both        have  no experience.

3. I am 'time poor' ... work full time and can't be personally involved ...

Let's suppose you want to find a land owner who will put their land
into the  Joint Venture, (JV) and their land will be their major contribution to the deal, plus some borrowings.

Let's consider the implications of entering into a JV in the first place.

After all, in a JV you have to take into account another persons attitude, decision making process, (or inability to make a decision), whether they have a logical and sensible mind ... the list goes on.

So, getting into a JV must have a good payback for you. Whatever you lack is usually the reason for entering into a JV.

I have noticed over the years that JV's have a prime motivator, the driver of the deal (you), and the other person is along for the ride.
 
For example: the other party may have a wonderful property (site) and wants to develop it, but does not have the knowledge. You "love" the site and know that you could make it a very successful and profitable real estate development. You approched the land owner.

Another example: maybe two individuals who have saved their capital, however individually it is inadaquate to undertake a project. Combining their capital and borrowing capacity will allow they to proceed.

I prefer a JV where both parties are equally motivated, have different skill bases, but each regards the other as contributing equally.
 
You know the feelings that can occur, "I'm working harder that you ...
all you do is the phone and number crunching work ... I'm always out
and about on site dealing with the real work."

Don't forget why you got together in the first place.

So there are many reasons for JV's. However, you must be clear as to why you are doing it, and it must be secured by a legally prepared JV Agreement.

A lot of 'practical people' hate legal documents ... a JV Agreement is a legal document and both parties must understand what it says. If one of you is a bit slack on this point, it is up to the other to sit them down and go through it ... it's important!

Why? 

Suppose the JV deal hits a rough patch and your partner says, "I didn't know that ... why didn't you tell me ... I left all that legal garbage to you ... blah, blah." Got It, have the arguments at the beginning of the deal ... not later.

A JV Agreement sets out what each party will contribute, both money and effort, and sets out each parties obligations. It also sets out what happens if the parties 'fall-out' with each other as well as the division of profits or losses.

There is a lot more at stake if you JV with your rother-in-Law, other relatives etc ... the term 'on-going-nightmare' is a phrase that readily comes to mind.

And if one of those family JV's brake down, it dosen't matter how many pages are in the JV Agreement, or what the words say to prove that you are "RIGHT," ... as far as YOUR Brother-in-Law is concerned, you are a 'expletive deleted.'

Just thought I'd get that out of the way!! OK?

One more thing ... doing a JV with a rich person, when you are many levels poorer then them, is also not smart.

Why?

Well, in simple terms, when 'push comes to shove' money rules ...
The golden rule says, He who has the GOLD, RULES.

Also, if the rich guy tell you not to bother with a JV Agreement ... he appears to be saving you money ... tempting eh? ... what he's really doing is taking away your legal rights.

Yep, you'll have less rights than an employee. If that's the deal ... better to be an employee!

In my my ebook I emphasise the importance of getting the Structure Work of the business organised - you will build a much better development business from a secure foundation.

When you are doing your interviewing of the associated professionals, try to see if they, personally, have any entrepreneutial tendancies.

They may have land, houses, houses for renovation etc but don't have the 'TIME' or 'SKILLS' to do the work themselves.

Don't come out and ask them straight away ... follow my ebook, do the work you want to do; that is assessing them ... but keep your antenna out for any signs of a common interest.

OK, back to getting hold of some land.

Get to know the local real estate agents; I mean know them well.
Remember what I say in the ebook.

Call in and buy them a cup of coffee, take them out of their work place;
what about dinner after work; really spread yourself around.

Invest your Time in finding good, well informed, dedicated agents. Believe me they are in your business community ... it's your job to find them.

Appreciate that Agents are essentially self-employed, irrespective of whether they work in a Real Estate Agency ... their 'mind set' is independent.

They back themselves and their abilities to provide a sales service at a
level that "consistantly" provides them with a 'good income.

That 'good income' by the way, will leave most of their 'client's' income
looking a little anaemic.

The 'good agents' are busy; their 'time' is money; literally. So don't mess them around.

Don't talk to them as though you are the Aga Kahn! You're Not. There's always a guy richer than you ... maybe the Agent!

Why am I making such a big point about agents.

I believe "people" get the agents "they deserve."

I have heard people talk to Agents as though they were some grubby leech on society and are doing them an honor even to talk to them.

To be a successful agent these days you have to be very good. Many are highly educated and choose real estate as a career for the freedom,
individual reward and great returns.

What comes out of your mouth + body language tells an agent a great deal about you. They then wonder why the Agent never calls then ... Dong!!!

Keep your 'ego' under control. Their sales success rests on their ability at 'reading people.' Remember what I say in my ebook!

When you are in the development business, you are in the business of:

Getting People To Do ... What You Want Them To Do
Within The 'TIME' AND 'Costs'You Set.

That means that you have to be in control of 'How You Treat People.'
Agents know a lot of people ... maybe, they even know those people who want to JV with you.

While you are doing this "work" don't forget to do what my ebook tell you
to do about research.

Last idea for finding JV people - talk to your friends - put an advert in the local newspaper seeking expressions of interest from people interested in doing what you want.

OK, you've found a partner who has the land and you are comfortable with the relationship after several meetings.

Important question! What value does your prospective partner put on his land that will be put into the JV?

Just throwing a few figures around to give you an example.

Let's say that market value for his land right now is $300,000. But he wants to put into the JV at $400,000. So if your JV Agreement involves you gaining a share of the profit, your share will be $100,000 less. Got It?

Now let's say that part of your skills contribution to the JV includes a
rezoning of the land to a higher level and you achieve that for the JV.
That rezoning may take the land from a single unit (house) dwelling zone to a six dwelling unit zone.

Your efforts have increased the land value significantly ... no, not six times, as house properties are valued differently to multiple unit properties. But it may have increased by 3 or more times, depending on your market.

Once again the $100,000 will come off your share. Now that may be OK by you, because you are just starting out on your first development ... it is always better to KNOW what you are agreeing too.

I hope this information helps you in your consideration of entering a JV.
but please remember, don't just read my eBook ... study it ... take notes in a special hard cover Development Copy Book that you will buy.

Writing things down is an aid to learning and remembering.

My LAST DON'T ... Don't start any of this JV stuff until you know my eBook
inside out. You must not just be able to 'talk the talk' - you must know what you are talking about.

What I am all about, is helping you to do residential development with the RISK reduced.

If it takes four years study to get a basic Degree and say another five years to get some experience, why would you think that you can enter the development business with little study -- no experience and expect to be profitable?

"Residential Development Made Easy" is written by Colm Dillon, the 'Real Estate Development Coach' and is the only 'How To Become a Residential Real Estate Developer's eBook on the web; it's selling in 38 Countries, from his experience of developing $1.2 Billion worth of real estate - read more on his web site http://realestatedevelopmentcoach.com/realestatedevelopment.html


MORE RESOURCES:
Real Estate Articles from EzineArticles.com
05/05/2020 07:53 AM
8 Tips To Keep In Mind Before You Hire An Office Removal Company
If you are going to move your office to a new location, make sure the new space is suitable for your business operations. Before you go ahead and make the move, we suggest that you follow the tips given below. Read on to know more.
04/29/2020 09:40 AM
What Should We Expect From Real Estate, In The Near Future?
How might this pandemic, affect the real estate market, in the period, following the reopening of our economy? Will sellers, expect less, and change their expectations, in terms of price, etc? How many potential buyers, may no longer feel confortable, in terms of their personal comfort zone, making a major economic purchase, after this extended period of consumer fears, income disruptions, etc?
03/26/2020 09:22 AM
4 Real Estate Components Which Will Be Impacted
As a Real Estate Licensed Salesperson, in the State of New York, for over 15 years, I have observed, several previous, various types of markets. While, we often, think of only, buyers, sellers, and/ or, a neutral market, the present - day, pandemic, and associated, health, and economic crisis, will, most likely, have, some longer - term impacts, and ramifications, which might, permanently, change this horizon. With that in mind, this article will attempt to, briefly, consider, examine, review, and discuss, 4 specific, real estate components, which, will probably undergo, game - changing, longer - term, changes, and ramifications.
03/23/2020 10:48 AM
Real Estate in Anantapur
If you are looking to invest in real estate in India, then Anantapur is one of the best places. This is true about both commercial and residential properties. Over the years, investors realized that putting money in real estate is the best type of investment.
02/12/2020 03:24 PM
Upselling Home Inspections
Cost-conscious consumers sometimes find out too late that trying to save money on an inspection can result in an inadequate report. More often homebuyers find that the advertised fees for home inspections don't always include things like basement apartments and woodstoves.
02/12/2020 11:13 AM
Coworking Vs Virtual Office: Which One Is the Best for You?
Today, business owners and entrepreneurs can choose from multiple options as far as creating offices is concerned. They are not restricted to traditional offices anymore. The most popular options that are available to them include coworking space and virtual offices.
02/12/2020 11:12 AM
5 Benefits Of Hiring the Services of A Removal Company
Typically, when people move to another place, they suffer from a lot of stress and frustration. The same is true whether you are going to move within the city or outside. Apart from this, moving to another place doesn't mean collecting your stuff and transporting it to your new house.
01/16/2020 08:31 AM
7 Tips to Help You Get the Most Out of Your Coworking Space
Although having an office in your own home is a great idea, establishing a boundary between your personal life and work can be a great challenge. According to many surveys, employees that work in a co-working space enjoy a better experience. Given below are 7 tips that can help you get the most out of your shared working space.
01/15/2020 09:53 AM
Buyer, Seller, Agent, And Market, Have Different Perceptions Of Real Estate Value
One of the challenges, of creating a meeting - of - the - minds, when it comes to real estate transactions, etc, is, each party, often, has a different perception, of the value of any particular property! Generally, buyers under - value a potential purchase, often, seeking, a lower, than realistic, offering price. Sellers behave, quite to the contrary, often, over - valuing, what they own!
12/05/2019 02:18 PM
Pros and Cons of Buying Duplex Apartments in Kolkata
In many cases, a duplex apartment is a two-story dwelling space where one unit is placed on top of the other. Both are then connected by a common staircase. In reality, they are two separate residences with their own entrances and other features.
11/21/2019 02:29 PM
Properties in Nairobi, Kenya
Although apartment buildings have existed for centuries, apartments in Kenya have become trendy, classy, and the latest fashion that everyone wants to keep up with, and guess what? They are selling like hot cakes. As Kenya advances, the capital city, Nairobi is becoming more and more like a metropolitan place.
11/21/2019 02:29 PM
Apartments in Nairobi, Kenya
The fastest growing market in Kenya is real estate. Property development is increasing at a very high rate. People that own large houses with ample land are ready to either sell or develop their own land.
11/19/2019 01:57 PM
What's the Difference: Buying Vs Investing in a Residential Property?
Are you looking forward to starting a better standard of living? It is probably known to all that buying a new home with modern features opens the path towards a lifestyle of our dreams.
11/06/2019 01:41 PM
How Do You Know Your Home's VALUE?
Many homeowners, potential qualified buyers, etc, believe they know what a particular house, is worth, but, often, either, over, or under - estimate, its actual VALUE! Homeowners, seeking to sell their home, need to have an accurate idea, so they can ensure, it's priced right, from the start! Those, who are considering selling, should also, gain this knowledge, in order, to be certain, they are not, over - paying their real estate taxes, etc.
11/01/2019 04:19 PM
Explore a Luxurious Lifestyle With Flats in North Kolkata
It is believed that North Kolkata lacks the essential features to provide one with refined standard of living. It is true? The blog discusses the pointers that will hold up the truth to the readers about the current scenario in North Kolkata.
10/24/2019 07:23 PM
Beating The Instant Buyer
Being so close to Halloween, I thought I would write the scariest article to real estate investors and Realtors that I could think of. iBuyers are the zombies eating away at your opportunities. They are murdering growth and killing dreams!
10/08/2019 10:00 AM
What Your CURB Appeal, Says About Your House?
There is much discussion about what, we, in real estate, refer to, as curb appeal, but, very little, detail, or reasons, as to why, this is such an essential consideration, in terms of, precisely, how important, and why, this is so! We need to carefully examine, and review, what potential, qualified buyers, see, from the CURB, in order to use, this concept, to the homeowner's best avail! Although, this is important and essential, I have come, to realize, in my, well over a decade, as a Real Estate Licensed Salesperson, in the State of New York, far too often, this key consideration,...
10/07/2019 04:14 PM
Learn From Real Estate History: Markets Are Cyclical: 5 Important Factors
If we learn from the past, in a meaningful way, we would better understand, the history of real estate, should teach us, the housing markets, are, often, cyclical! There are up - markets, and down, ones, as well as periods, with a greater degree of balance, between these two. Most have heard references to buyers markets, as well as sellers markets, yet, it seems, people continue to over - react, to changing conditions, etc.
09/18/2019 01:04 PM
Is It Your Right HOME?
Since, for most of us, the financial value of one's house, represents our single - biggest, financial/ monetary asset, doesn't it make sense, to have a method/ technique, to ensure, you proceed, as wisely as possible, and consider, a wide variety of relevant options and alternatives? Qualified, serious, potential home buyers, should, consider, if the particular possibility, is the right HOME, for them. How can one do so, thoroughly, and carefully, in a focused way?
09/16/2019 09:23 AM
A SMART Approach To Real Estate
There are so many aspects, contingencies, scenarios, and differences, in real estate, it serves little sense, to seek, some, overly simplistic approach, but, rather, it makes more sense, to look at the bigger - picture, and proceed, with a SMART way/ method! Some of the considerations, should include: current economic state, as well as foreseeable future; consumer confidence; specific, personal needs; present finances; personal comfort zone; future financial possibilities; region/ area/ neighborhood, etc. With that in mind, this article will attempt to, briefly, consider, review, examine, and discuss, using the mnemonic approach, why this matters, and why, it is the wisest,...
09/12/2019 12:52 PM
Beat Them On Price
"I need your help!!!
09/03/2019 08:55 AM
Tips to Get Ready For Your House Valuation
If you take the right steps to get ready for your home valuation, it will make the process easy for the valuation expert and yourself. In this article, we are going to give you a few tips that can help you to get ready for your home valuation.
08/14/2019 08:23 AM
4 Factors Which Impact Real Estate's Future
Since no one has a crystal ball, there will always be, a significant degree of uncertainty, when it comes to trying to predict, and forecast, the future, and trends, when it comes to the housing market, etc! Although, past trends, are significant, and important, to understand, we must, also recognize, we live in an evolving world, and, everything, from how, houses are marketed (especially, the digital/ Internet considerations), to the extended, nearly, historically low, mortgage interest rates, differ, from what has been witnessed, and experienced, in the past. With that in mind, this article will attempt to, briefly, consider, examine, review,...
08/12/2019 09:03 AM
When To Sell A House
Taking the idea of trying to time the market out of the equation, how do you know when the best time is to sell a house with equity? I get this question from even the savviest investors all the time. I was just reading some articles from an experienced investor in the Denver area.
08/08/2019 09:05 AM
Gurgaon a Promising Location Exceptional Amenities and More
The millennium city, Gurgaon is the most sought-after destination for home buyers, investors, corporate homes, etc. It has easy accessibility to the national capital, Delhi. Gurgaon is developing at fast paced and is building around 12000 luxury housing units in a short time span.
08/01/2019 07:34 PM
UK Government to Crackdown on Unfair Leasehold Practices
The HCLG report on leasehold reform published on 19 March 2019 includes important and wide reaching recommendations affecting the management of blocks of flats and other leasehold property. The report recommends significant changes impacting block management agents, conveyancing solicitors, landlords, developers and estate agents throughout England and Wales.In July 2018 the Housing, Communities and Local Government Committee (HCLG) launched an inquiry into the Government's programme for leasehold reform. This followed the Government consultation in 2017 into tackling unfair leasehold practices in the UK property market.
07/15/2019 11:13 AM
Improving Seller Calls
It was a fall Sunday morning before a Denver Bronco game. I was playing fantasy football and desperately wanted to watch the pregame shows to make the best decisions for my fantasy team. There were bragging rights on the line after all, but instead of going to the remote, I went for my phone.
07/08/2019 09:51 AM
A Logical Guess: 3 Ways, Politics, May Influence Real Estate, In The Near - Term
One of the greatest, unknowns, throughout recent history, is being able to predict, and/ or determine, whether we will experience a buyers, sellers, and/ or, neutral real estate market, and, accurately, predicting, the anticipated duration! There are many factors, scenarios, perceptions, economic (local, regional, national, and international) occurrences, etc, which impact, real estate's performance, and, thus, its pricing trends. One of these factors, which is often ignored (and/ or, taken for - granted), is politics.
06/13/2019 09:18 AM
Debt Vs. Equity
As a hard money lender, I get calls daily from real estate investors wanting help funding their next project. Many of them are so focused on one way to do it, they sometimes miss opportunities to make money. It was a few months ago I spoke with an investor that wanted us to fund a deal in Denver.
06/04/2019 10:39 AM
Overturned Mortgage Rulings Creates Chaos at the Supreme Court and Bank Stock Falls
Controversial decisions made by the Spanish Supreme Court regarding the Stamp Duty payable on Mortgage Deeds. The Supreme Court overturns one of its own rulings in a shock turn of events.
06/04/2019 09:48 AM
Owning a Classic Craftsman Home in Northeast Los Angeles
NELA home architectural styles vary widely: Modern, Art Deco, Victorian, Tudors, and others. But perhaps the Craftsman residences get the most attention.
06/04/2019 09:43 AM
Real Estate Outlook September 2018
LOS ANGELES, CA. How will the United States increased tariffs on an additional sixteen billion dollars of goods impact the real estate market? China has announced retaliatory tariffs and has even decided to increase tariffs on another two hundred billion dollars of Chinese goods. There is a weakening trend due to trade disruptions. The actual impact on the real estate markets will only become fully visible later this year.
05/28/2019 09:20 AM
5 Things That Make A PG Different From Others
You can find multiple advertisements reinforcing the same old qualities of a PG. These qualities include ideal location, good transport system, security, spacious rooms, the facility of AC and the option of getting a room for yourself or sharing it according to your budget. These things are essential and very important for ensuring a comfortable stay and nobody will deny that fact. These are the things that every student or working professional will consider before finalizing a PG. Over the years, we have been forced to think that these are luxuries while they are not and consequently, we don't seek or ask anything more than these basic facilities.
05/15/2019 09:15 AM
Will We See Another Housing Bubble?: 4 Considerations
In the past few decades, we have witnessed a variety of different housing markets. We've seen buyers, sellers, and neutral real estate markets, to a wide variety of degrees. There have been periods, when it seemed, every house, sold, as soon as it was listed, at, or above, the listing price, and we have also seen, considerably more challenging circumstances.
05/13/2019 01:57 PM
The Perfect Disaster
Why trying to be perfect is a great way to fail - and how to avoid it. The best is the enemy of success! What I mean by this is so many of us are so focused on the best that we take very little action towards our success.
04/24/2019 11:45 AM
FINANCIAL DEFENSE The True Path to Wealth
"Congratulations! You play fantastic offense" This was said sarcastically by Thomas J Stanley in his famous book, The Millionaire Next Door. I have not read or listened to this book in more than eight years, but I still remember this phrase. That one, and the millionaire saying, "I drink two types or beer. Budweiser and Free."
04/23/2019 02:45 PM
BIG TAX BENEFITS? Qualified Opportunity Zones
I received another call last week about someone wanting to invest in an Opportunity Zone (OZ). I asked "Why?" and they said, "To save on taxes and make more money."
04/23/2019 10:21 AM
U.S. Real Estate Predictions for 2019
Similar as to how political pundits claim that this election cycle will be the most important in a generation, this year could be the most important year in recent memory in terms of mortgage loans and the residential real estate industry at large. (And if you believe that I have some swap land in Florida I'd like to sell you). For a variety of reasons, I have decided unilaterally to keep it short and sweet this year.
04/08/2019 10:53 AM
The Single Member LLC - Should I Use One?
Correct use of entities in a real estate investing business is one of the most common mistakes I see investors making. A Single Member Limited Liability Company or SMLLC, being the most common. In the states we work, we are lucky to be afforded the opportunity to use SMLLCs because not all states allow them.
01/30/2019 04:37 PM
Advantages of Living in a City
City life is commonly described as fast-paced. It is a life that is tangled with having a busy lifestyle such that every second counts. Despite this scenario, the advantages of living in the city still speak best about why there are still may families who choose to dwell in the urban jungle.
01/22/2019 01:08 PM
Drive for Show, Putt for Dough
Last week I shot a 97. That was my best round yet. I started golfing about 3 years ago, and I am enjoying the challenge.
01/18/2019 04:52 PM
Why Some, Who Can Afford To Buy. Rent?
Many people appear, to automatically, believe, people, who rent a place to live, aren't able to afford, to buy a home. However, many individuals, don't want to own a house (prefer to rent), for a variety of other reasons. This may be, because they are uncertain of how long, they will live in a specific area, whether they will enjoy the particular neighborhood, aren't comfortable with the unknowns of home - ownership, or don't want the responsibilities, etc.
01/07/2019 01:09 PM
How The Overall Economy Impacts Real Estate?
Many of us, who are involved, on a daily basis, with the many nuances of real estate, get so involved with buying, selling, marketing, and promoting homes, and making/ giving listing presentation, we often ignore, the many economic factors and other conditions, which impact the real estate market. Some of these factors are local, in nature, while others may be national or international/ global. Some are actual, while others are perceived (for example, belief in their job security, negative possibilities because of some action taken by government, etc).
01/04/2019 10:39 AM
Looking Ahead To 2019: What Factors Should Real Estate Examine?
Anyone, who, either, as a professional, or, simply, a curious observer, watches the real estate markets, and possibilities, must take a close look at the possible factors, which might impact, what might be trends in the housing market, as well as the overall economy. Beware, there are no guarantees, but, simply probabilities, or best guesses (also called, educated guesses)! After more than a decade as a Licensed Real Estate Salesperson, in the State of New York, I believe, the more educated and aware, a potential buyer might be, the better his chances.
11/28/2018 12:58 PM
What Does A HOME, Mean To You?
Most of us, have heard, the expression, A house, is not, a home, but, we often, pay far too little attention, to that, before we commit to purchasing a particular house. Wouldn't it make sense, if, we spent, a little more time, and effort, considering, what would make us, consider it, to be, a HOME, and what emotional, family, and personal considerations, and necessities, might differentiate between, simply living in some house, and truly, making it, a home, of our own? With that in mind, this article will attempt to briefly, review, consider, and discuss, using the mnemonic approach, some of the...
11/27/2018 12:59 PM
Financial Considerations Of Home Ownership
While we often, refer to, home ownership, as a core component, of the American Dream, it's important, for us, to take a realistic look, at the obligations, and necessities, involved, if this is, to truly be a dream, instead of a potential nightmare! Before embarking on this house - hunting, process, carefully, introspectively, objectively, examine and consider, your personal reasons, persona, what makes you happy/ satisfied, and whether, it's a good course, for you. After, you've determined, what's best, for you, and know, what you want, it's essential to clearly consider, and examine, what you might be able to afford...
11/16/2018 12:48 PM
What Should I Invest In? An Answer From The Expert
Do you want to know what is going to give you the best return on your investment? A while back, I was asked to participate in a YouTube Live video with a close friend of mine. Matt is an extremely savvy business owner and financial coach.
10/24/2018 02:54 PM
Why Is A House, Considered, REAL Estate?
Although, we, often, refer to the dream, of owning, a home, of one's own, many of us, fail to fully consider, what doing so, actually, means, and represents. to you, personally, rather than, what others, prioritize, and/ or seem to care about! One fact, which should be, important, is, a house, is one, meaningful, form of owning, and possessing, real estate, and why, this experiencing is truly, REAL.
10/18/2018 04:03 PM
Multi - Family Rental Property: Buying, Selling, Renting
Many of us, consider, whether purchasing a multi - family, rental property, is a good fit, in terms of being, a component of one's investment strategy, and process. Like anything else, a wise consumer researches, and becomes familiar with the possible, pluses, and minuses, and whether it, is for them. It is important to understand, and evaluate, the best, buying - opportunities, whether it should be sold, or if renting, is the best strategy.
10/08/2018 02:47 PM
Reasons Some Rent, Instead Of Own
Although it is generally, considered, to be the American Dream, owning a home, of their own, is not, for everyone! Although studies indicate, in the longer - run, it is more cost - effective, to be an owner, than renter, there are certain individuals, who, it is often, not for. With that in mind, this article will attempt to briefly, consider, identify, and discuss, some of the items, which might make someone, a less, than stellar, candidate, for home ownership.


home | site map
© 2006